Vod Odyssey logo

"ALLUME TON JEU !"

Le premier jeu de Baseball sur la console “Magnavox Odyssey”

Informations Générales

Developpeur - Magnavox

Producteur - Magnavox

Distribuée - 1972

Magnavox Odyssey baseball

Ce jeu de baseball a été rendu public en 1972 et a été vendu séparement de la console. Il peut être joué par deux joueurs qui utilisent une combinaison de déplacements, un dé et des cartes pour simuler le jeu.

Mais, comme d’habitude avec Odyssey, ce jeu est limité. C’est toujours : le joueur 1 qui essaie de tirer la balle puis le joueur 2 qui essaie d’intercepter la balle et la renvoie au joueur 1. En fait, c’est une autre version du tennis.

Heureusement, il y a une jolie palette de couleurs pour t’aider à imaginer qu’il s’agit bel et bien d’un jeu de baseball. Les règles sont aussi plutôt avancées pour un jeu Odyssey avec de multiples subtilités.

Extrait de l’avis de Chronogamer : "Il y a des cartes que tu tires sous certaines conditions pour indiquer qu’une erreur, un mauvais lancer ou une mise en jeu a lieu. La mise en jeu est réfléchie car si le batteur tire une carte, il peut la garder pour plus tard et la jouer quand il jugera que le moment est opportun. Le batteur peut aussi choisir de frapper un coup amorti”

Partager

Google+

The First Baseball Game ever made
on the Magnavox Odyssey gaming console

General Information

Developer - Magnavox

Publisher - Magnavox

Release - 1972

Magnavox Odyssey baseball

This Baseball game was released in 1972 it was sold separately to the gaming console and works by Two players using a combination of on-screen movement, dice, and play cards to simulate a game of baseball.

But, as usual with the Odyssey, the gameplay is limited. It's still: player 1 tries to throw ball past player 2, player 2 tries to intercept it and throw back ball past player 1. Another "tennis" variation in fact.

Fortunately, a nice colorful plastic overlay is here to help you think you are actually playing a baseball game. Rules are also quite advanced for an Odyssey game with many subtilities.

Extract from Chronogamer's review: "There are cards you can draw under certain conditions to indicate that an error, wild pitch, or pick-off has occurred. The pick-off is neat because if a batter draws it he can save it until later when he's pitching and use it when he sees fit. A batter can also choose to bunt, or to make a sacrifice fly. You can even have pinch hitters and relief pitchers."

Sharing is caring

Google+